Healthier Together



Do you want to recieve updates?

Sign up for our mailing list for regular updates of changes to the NHS in Greater Manchester:

Which organisations are involved?


Health and social care leaders from across Greater Manchester have been working together to review the services they offer and the way they are delivered.


Association of Greater Manchester Authorities Logo

Local health and social care teams are working together and are developing pioneering ways of delivering care in communities and hospitals that are tailored to the specific needs of their local populations and respond to some of the challenges they face.

Greater Manchester Combined Authority LogoAs part of the review they are finding that there is a need for the 10 local communities across Greater Manchester to co-ordinate plans and solutions. Many improvements to services can be planned and implemented at a local level in each of the 10 areas. However there does need to be some degree of consistency in the implementation of these plans as people often use services that are not in their local community. Planning for the whole of Greater Manchester is particularly important when thinking about how hospital services are delivered in the future.

The NHS and Councils working together

The NHS and local authorities across Greater Manchester have come together to work collaboratively for the future of health and social care.

Leading the review and reforming the way we receive care are the 10 local authorities and the 12 Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs). Their details and contact information can be found here.

The different organisations in each local area are being coordinated by the 10 Health and Wellbeing Boards.  Each Health and Wellbeing Board represents the integration between health and social care and is a forum for joined up working.

Rapid progress is further enabled by excellent partnership working between the Association of Greater Manchester Authorities (AGMA) and the Greater Manchester Combined Authority, the Association of Greater Manchester Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs), and the Greater Manchester Area Team of NHS England, which together represent a total of 21 commissioners.  This alignment of leadership and decision making in support of all 10 council areas of GM provides a unique opportunity to drive forward health and social care locality focused reform at a scale in the context of a substantial programme of wider public service reform. 

The hospital shared single service model has been clinically designed with leadership from the acute hospital trusts across Greater Manchester. These include:

  • Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • The Christie NHS Foundation Trust
  • Pennine Acute Hospital NHS Trust
  • Bolton NHS Foundation Trust
  • Stockport NHS Foundation Trust
  • Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust
  • Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Trafford Healthcare NHS Trust
  • University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust
  • Wrightington, Wigan & Leigh NHS Foundation Trust


Want to be kept up to date on what happens next?

Sign up for our mailing list and we'll send you regular updates of changes to the NHS in Greater Manchester.